The Centennial Building began construction in 1911 to accommodate the ever-increasing youth population in the area, which had outgrown the current Little Red School House meant for thirty pupils. The building was completed in 1912, with classes starting that fall. About forty-five students were enrolled and classes were provided for pupils up to 8th Grade; for further education students would have to go to Revelstoke, Kaslo, or Nelson.
The building would later become the public library, and village office, sharing the upstairs space. In 1968, the Kinettes approached the village council to use the basement area to house local artifacts; which was to become the Nakusp Museum, continuing to this day.
Presently, the Centennial Building hosts the Nakusp Museum on the ground floor, the Public Library, and the Arrow Lakes Historical Society upstairs. As well, the Nakusp Visitor Centre is located right next door.
The Nakusp & District Museum exhibits some of the fascinating history of the Arrow Lakes area. It is home to over 6,000 artifacts of early life on the Arrow Lakes, including a section dedicated to the Sinixt Nation (Lakes People).
Check out our current Featured Exhibit to learn more about what the Nakusp and District Museum can offer.